Beyoncé Announces Recipients Of HBCU Homecoming Scholars Award Program


July 24, 2018


Photo via: Getty Images

After paying homage to Historically Black Colleges and Universities (HBCUs) during her historic Coachella performance in April, Beyoncé pledged to donate $100,000 to four HBCUs through her Homecoming Scholars Award Program. Google soon after matched her $100,000 donation, increasing the number of recipients from four to eight. 


Here are this year’s winners: Allana J. Barefield (Xavier University), Caleb Washington (Tuskegee University), Jordan Davis (Texas Southern University), Cletus Emokpae (Grambling State University), Erin Evans (Wilberforce University), Demetrius Weaver (Bethune-Cookman University), Dartishia Mosley (Fisk University), and Kameron Willis (Morehouse College). 

“The Homecoming Scholars Award Program… named four universities and extended the program to all qualifying students at the universities, regardless of gender,” said a statement released on Beyonce’s website on Monday. 


This marks Beyonce’s second round of scholarships that she has awarded through her BeyGOOD initiative. The first was the Formation Scholars Award program, which selected four young women who “are unafraid to think outside the box and are bold, creative, conscious and confident.”

All recipients were awarded a $25,000 scholarship for the 2018-2019 academic school year. The students can use the funds for their studies in disciplines such as literature, creative arts, African American studies, science, education, business, communications, social sciences, computer science and engineering. They must also maintain at least a 3.5 grade point average. 

Congratulations to all of this year’s recipients!  


0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


Join the BOTWC newsletter for the latest in news & culture!

By clicking Submit, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Newsletter Signup
Skip to content