Stacey Abrams Receives Well Deserved Nobel Peace Prize Nomination


February 1, 2021

She’s deserves this and more! 

Stacey Abrams, the voting rights activist, politician, and political powerhouse has been nominated for this Nobel Peace Prize by a Norwegian lawmaker, according to Reuters.

Abrams and her organization Fair Fight Action along with a slew of community organizers worked tirelessly to increase Black voter turnout in Georgia during this past election cycle. Her dedication led to Georgia turning blue for the first time in nearly three decades, helping Joe Biden secure the presidency.


She began her fight against voter suppression in 2014 with the New Georgia Project’s launch, which pushed to get unregistered Black Georgians signed up to vote in the midterm elections. Then, in 2018, after losing the state’s gubernatorial race to Republican now, Gov. Brian Kemp, Abrams created Fair Action Fight to continue those efforts and the rest is history!

On the first day of Black History Month and the last day allowed for nominations, Lars Haltbrekken, a Socialist Party member of Norway’s parliament, selected Abrams for this prestigious honor.

“Abrams’ work follows in Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s footsteps in the fight for equality before the law and for civil rights,” Halbrekken said. “Abrams’ efforts to complete King’s work are crucial if the United States of America shall succeed in its effort to create fraternity between all its peoples and a peaceful and just society.”


King was first nominated for the award in 1964 and eventually won the Nobel prize in 1964 due to his leadership in the civil rights movement 

The Oslo-based Norwegian Nobel Committee will release a shortlist for the award in March. Other notable candidates this year include the Black Lives Matter Movement and teenage climate activist Greta Thunberg.



Every year, nominations for the Nobel Peace Prize come from people worldwide, including members of government and former prize winners. A nomination doesn’t automatically qualify the individual or organization considered for the prize by the Nobel committee. The committee which decides the winner doesn’t speak on the nominations, but nominators can disclose their picks. The winner of this year’s Nobel Peace Prize is expected to be announced in October.

Previous winners include Ralph Bunche, the first Black person to be awarded the prize in 1950, U.S. President Barack Obama, and Nelson Mandela.


Photo Credit: Katrina Hajagos

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


Join the BOTWC newsletter for the latest in news & culture!

By clicking Submit, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Newsletter Signup
Skip to content