Yamiche Alcindor Awarded 2020 ‘Journalist Of The Year’ By The National Association Of Black Journalists


October 31, 2020

She’s done it again!

Yesterday, the National Association of Black Journalists announced that Yamiche Alcindor has been named the 2020 ”Journalist of the Year!” The PBS NewsHour White House correspondent will be honored with the annual award, which recognizes a Black journalist who has amassed a distinguished body of work with extraordinary depth, scope, and significance to the African diaspora. Alcindor will be presented with the award at the first-ever virtual 2020 Salute to Excellence Awards event.


Alcindor tweeted out her excitement and appreciation for the award, “I feel so honored to be the 2020 NABJ Journalist of the Year,” she wrote. “So many journalists are doing amazing work amid this election, pandemic, and racial reckoning and I am blessed to be recognized among them.”

Recently, Alcindor received the IWMF’s Gwen Ifill Award and the White House Correspondents’ Association’s Aldo Beckman Award for Overall Excellence in White House Coverage. She has also been awarded the Ifill Next Generation Award by Simmons University and NextGen Leader Award by the Georgetown Entertainment & Media Alliance. In 2017, she won an award in a tribute to Ifill during Syracuse University’s Toner Prize ceremony. And in 2013, she was named NABJ’s “Emerging Journalist of the Year.”

According to a press release, the hosts of the 2020 awards show will “pay tribute to our 2020 Special Honors recipients and Hall of Fame inductees” are Emmy Award-winning actress Lynn Whitfield; anchor of NBC News’ “TODAY,” Craig Melvin; NAACP Image Award-winning actress, Tichina Arnold; co-host of “CBS This Morning: Saturday,” Michelle Miller; and co-anchor of “ABC World News Now” and “America This Morning,” Kenneth Moton.


Other awards being given out include the Michael J. Feeney Emerging Journalist of the Year to Rachel V. Scott, the Legacy Award to Rehema Ellis, the Chuck Stone Lifetime Achievement Award to Kevin Merida, the Journalist of Distinction to Elaine Houston, and the Ida B. Wells Award to Kimberly Godwin, amongst others.

Go to the site to register and tune in on December 19, 2020, at 7 p.m

You’re unstoppable, Yamiche! Congratulations!


Photo Credit: Getty Images

0 0 votes
Article Rating
Notify of
Inline Feedbacks
View all comments


Join the BOTWC newsletter for the latest in news & culture!

By clicking Submit, you agree to our Terms of Use and Privacy Policy.

Newsletter Signup
Skip to content